The Knowledge Foundation has a staff of 15 and is based in Stockholm. CEO Eva Schelin heads the secretariat, which is divided into three units. The management team comprises the heads of the units and the CEO.

organisation scheme


The Knowledge Foundation’s board is the highest decision-making body and consists of ten members including the chairman. The board has a capital committee to assist in the management of the capital at the foundation’s disposal. The capital committee consists of three of the board’s members and three external experts.

The following people are part of the Knowledge Foundation’s board

  • Elisabeth Nilsson, Chairman; Former Governor
  • Leif G Anderson, Professor Emeritus
  • Peter Dobers, Professor, Södertörn University
  • Ericka Johnson, Professor, Gender & Society, Linköping University
  • Sigbritt Karlsson, Professor, President KTH
  • Arne Lidén, Chairman of the Investment Committee
  • Gert Nilson, Technical Director, Jernkontoret
  • Eugenia Perez Vico, Associate senior lecturer at Department of Administration, Lund University
  • Rolf Skoglund, Entreprenuer
  • Thomas Strand, Region Jönköpings län. Former Member of Parliament


KK-stiftelsens styrelse. Foto: Icon Photo
Fr.l. upper line Rolf Skoglund, Leif G Anderson, Arne Lidén, Gert Nilson
Fr.l. lower line Peter Dobers, Elisabeth Nilsson (chair), Eugenia Perez Vico, Thomas Strand, Ericka Johnson. Sigbritt Karlsson not in photo. Photo: Pavel Koubek, Icon-Photo

The Board’s current mandate period is 1 July 2022 – 30 June 2025. Two Board members are appointed by the Government and the remaining eight by the Board itself. Seven Board members are each proposed by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, the Association of Swedish Higher Education Institutions (SUHF) and by the Secretaries General of the Swedish Research Council, and the Directors General of the Swedish Research Council for Health, Working Life and Welfare (Forte), Formas, the government research council for sustainable development, and Sweden’s innovation agency Vinnova, while the remaining board member is proposed by the Board.